What is the JMCC?
Our Purpose
Our Membership
Our History
Message from the Chairman
Statements and Press Releases
Reports and Publications
Working Groups
Meeting Dates
Contact Us
What is the JMCC?


The JMCC brings together the organisations that represent the medical profession in the UK. We provide a constructive forum in which our members can meet, debate and unite on the issues that affect the practice of medicine and the delivery of healthcare in the UK. We therefore aim to:

• act as a voice for a united medical profession;
• influence policy and inform the wider public debate; and,
• engage with key stakeholders and build partnerships to add real value.

Promoting medicine and the delivery of healthcare
We promote policies that will help the medical profession and healthcare organisations deliver patient care of the highest quality

Encouraging innovation and raising standards
We liaise with the appropriate bodies to achieve excellence in the delivery of undergraduate and postgraduate training and seek to foster the ongoing development of a medical profession of the highest standard.

Working in partnership and adding value
We develop partnerships with key stakeholders to advance debate, further progress and achieve more together.


The Joint Medical Consultative Council will provide a platform for members to debate, advise and take action upon issues that affect the practice of medicine and the delivery of healthcare in the UK, with the aim of providing improvements in quality, safety and effective use of resources.  Specifically, the Council will:

  • hold regular meetings with the Department of Health, selecting relevant issues for formal discussions on policy and practice;
  • bring such issues into formal discussions with other healthcare organisations;
  • respond to national consultations on health matters; and,
  • when appropriate, provide a united voice for the medical profession.



Chairman: Dr Alan Russell

The Chairman is elected annually. Candidates for election as Chairman must be present or former members of the JMCC.


Vice-Chairmen: Professor Sir Neil Douglas and Dr Mark Porter

The Vice-Chairmen are elected at the first meeting of a new session and are, by convention, the Chairman of the Academy of Medical Royal Colleges (AoMRC) and the BMA Central Consultants and Specialist Committee (CCSC). 


Academy of Medical Royal Colleges (AoMRC):

Chairman of the AoMRC (Professor Sir Neil Douglas)
Royal College of Anaesthetists (Dr Peter Nightingale)
Royal College of General Practitioners (Dr Clare Gerada)
Royal College of Obstetricians & Gynaecologists (Dr Anthony Falconer)
Royal College of Ophthalmologists (Professor Harminder Dua)

Royal College of Paediatrics & Child Health (Professor Terence Stephenson)
Royal College of Pathologists (Professor Peter Furness)
Royal College of Physicians (Sir Richard Thompson)
Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh (Dr Neil Dewhurst)
Royal College of Physicians & Surgeons of Glasgow (Mr Ian Anderson)

Royal College of Psychiatrists (Professor Dinesh Bhugra)

Royal College of Radiologists (Dr Jane Barrett)
Royal College of Surgeons of England (Mr John Black)
Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh (Mr David Tolley)
College of Emergency Medicine (Dr John Heyworth)
Faculty of Dental Surgery (Professor Derrick Willmot)
Faculty of Public Health Medicine (Professor Lindsey Davies)
AoMRC Trainees Committee (Dr Naresh Kumaar)


British Medical Association (BMA):

Chairman of the Central Consultants and Specialists Committee (Dr Mark Porter)

Deputy Chairman of CCSC (Dr Keith Brent)

Deputy Chairman of CCSC (Dr Paul Flynn)

Deputy Chairman of CCSC (Dr Ian Wilson)

CCSC Representative (Dr Edwin Borman)

CCSC Representative (Dr Rob Harwood)

CCSC Representative (Dr Tom Kane)

CCSC Representative (Mr Derek Machin)

Chairman of the CCSC Medical Managers Subcommittee (Dr David Scott)

Chairman of the Staff and Associate Specialists Committee (Dr Radhakrishna  Shanbhag)
Deputy Chairman of SASC (Dr Naikram Vaswani)

Co-Chair of the Junior Doctors Committee (Dr Shreelatta Datta)

Co-Chair of the Junior Doctors Committee (Dr Tom Dolphin)

Deputy Chairman of the JDC (Dr Andrew Collier)
Deputy Chairman of the Medical Academic Staff Committee (
Professor David Katz)

General Practitioners Committee Representative (Dr Brian Keighley)
GPC Representative (Dr Chaand Nagpaul)


British Dental Association (BDA):

Mr Keith Altman
Mr Bernie Speculand


Conference of Postgraduate Medical Deans (COPMeD):

Dr Vicky Osgood
Professor Davinder Sandhu


Medical Schools Council:

Professor Tony Weetman


Non-Aligned Members:

Chairman of the JMCC (Dr Alan Russell)
Welsh Subcommittee of the JMCC (Mr Jonathan Osborne)

Northern Irish Subcommittee of the JMCC (Dr Steve Austin)



Public Health Medicine Consultative Committee (Dr Richard Jarvis and Dr Keith Reid)

Honorary Secretary of the AoMRC (Professor Adrian Newland)

Chairman of the General Medical Council (Professor Sir Peter Rubin)



When the National Health Service was set up in 1948 the Presidents of the three English Medical Royal Colleges were approached by Dr Guy Dain, Chairman of Council of the British Medical Association, to discuss the possibility of establishing a joint organisation to represent consultants and act as the supreme and single mouthpiece of hospital doctors in negotiations with the Government and other authorities. 

An exploratory group was set up under the chairmanship of Sir Lionel Whitby and the first meeting of the new committee was held on the 17th December 1948, attended by the President of the Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists, Sir William Gilliant, the President of the Royal College of Physicians, Lord Moran and the President of the Royal College of Surgeons, Lord Webb-Johnson.  Representatives of the Consultants and Specialists Committee established by the BMA and of the Scottish Colleges also attended.

The next meeting was held on the 7th January 1949 at which the present pattern of a morning meeting of the committee followed by an afternoon meeting with the Department of Health was launched. In the following years the membership of the Committee was amended such that the BMA and the Medical Royal Colleges increased their representation whilst undergraduate deans and postgraduate deans were also asked to join the committee.

During the early stages of the committee’s operation the main matter discussed related to remuneration and terms and conditions of service of medical and dental staff.  However, the terms of reference were changed to exclude the consideration of terms and conditions of service in 1975 after the BMA had acquired trade union status. The JMCC subsequently turned its focus onto the major issues of standards of professional knowledge and skill in the health service and the promotion of medical education and research.

web design by adshires.co.uk, (c) copyright 2004 all rights reserved